92 reads
Leave a comment


:10—Here it is, city leaguers. The time has finally arrived. The fourth annual Pittsburgh City League High School All-Sports Hall of Fame Inductions, honoring the best of the best in city league history. Sponsored by Achieving Greatness Inc.

:09—The criteria: #1–Must be a city league graduate. #2–Must have played at least two of three years of a varsity sport. #3–Must be best of the best in your sport in your time. #4–Must have strong moral character. #5–Must be able to attend. #6–There is a special category for deceased athletes.

:08—Just a few of the legendary names already enshrined: Chuck Cooper, Lloyd Weston, Kenny Durrett, Jeep Kelly, Maurice Lucas, Sam Clancy, Mary Myers, Clev Edwards, Jennifer Bruce, Ricky Coleman, Clarence Hopson, Kirk Bruce, the 1976 Fifth Avenue State Championship Men’s Basketball Team, Darrin Walls.

:07—This year’s inductees: Category #1–Honor the Deceased; Fred Yee, Harold Pool, Walter Gross, Eugene Massa, Kenny Wade, Cedrick Hill, Charlie Betts, Tom Moul. Category #2 –Community Service Awards; Dr. Helen Faison Education Award—Dr. Gloria Hill, Eddie Jefferies Media Award—Bill Hillgrove, Pete Diemperio Legend Award—Elbert Kennedy, Maurice Lucas Courage Award—Kevin Parker. Category #3–City League Coaches Induction; Leroy Dillard, Joe Hnath, Fred Lucas, George Rieley. Category #4–City League High School Future Hall of Famers. Category #5–Honorary Legends Inductees; Billy Betts, Felix Cutruzzula, Horace Nelson, Paul Champlin, John Brewer, Ray Hooper. Category #6–The 2017 Class for the City League Hall of Fame; Tonja Stevens, Mike Wilson, Andrew Hodge, Latrica Hall, Jessie Murphy, Nathan Hall, Amber Plowden, Craig Walls, Charles Allie, Mark Ellison, Ngozi Uzdaga, Buddy Valinski, Lauren Neff, John Clark, Mandela Hodge, Andy Vento, Audi Chapman, Tamira Jones, Kevan Barlow, Rasheed Hill, Ron Porter, Mon-T Robinson, Eddie Benton, Chuck Griffey, Laniece Saunders, Vaughn Rivers. Category #7–2017 Team Inductions; The 1966 Schenley High School City League and State Champions, the 1971 Schenley High School City League and State Champions.

:06—Friday, Oct. 6, pre-event reception at the fabulous Savoy Restaurant, 2623 Penn Avenue. 6 p.m. until–no cover–Dress to Impress–cash bar–cash kitchen–free and valet parking–50/50 to support the Hall of Fame—awards—It’s a welcome home, meet-and-greet City League reunion.

:05—The main event, Saturday, October 7 at the world-renowned August Wilson Center, 980 Liberty Ave. 6 to 7:20 p.m. is the reception, cash bar, elaborate hors d’oeuvre spread by the Savoy Restaurant–garage and street parking immediately available–Dress to Impress…not formal–tickets $50 for adults, $25 for youth 12 and under–50/50 to benefit the Hall of Fame awards–vendors–onsite photographers—awards presentation begins at 7:30 p.m. sharp–event ends at 9:45 p.m.—afterparty at the Savoy 10 p.m. until 2 a.m. Call AGI at 412-628-4856 for more information.

:04—Special Note: This year we will induct both the 1966 and 1971 Schenley High School City and State Championship teams together. In honor of those teams, this year’s event colors are red and black.

:03—Special thanks in advance to this year’s co-sponsors: The New Pittsburgh Courier, Chuck Saunders Charities, The Savoy Restaurant, Highmark, Office of the Mayor City of Pittsburgh, UPMC, KeyBank, Office of the Chief Executive Allegheny County, State Reps. Ed Gainey and Jake Wheatley, Judge Dwayne Woodruff, Congressman Mike Doyle, Office of the District Attorney, Attorney William Goodrich, Attorney Jack Goodrich, Dominic Gambino, Pittsburgh Board of Education, Pittsburgh City Council members, R. Daniel Lavelle, Dan Gillman and Darlene Harris.

:02—Be reminded this unprecedented and historic event is presented for the first time in the 200-year history of the city and the 180-year history of the Board of Education. It’s for that reason, along with the legendary greatness, and both regional and national recognition that the City League commands, that has presented three consecutive sellout crowds of 250 the first year, 500 the second year and 750 last year. Act fast so that you’re not the one on the outside looking in this year!

:01—Congratulations and special thanks to the 2017 City League Hall of Fame Committee: Bill Neal, Curtis Hefflin, Fred Lucas, Lorana Mitchell, Gena Thorpe, Lea Williams, Warren Wilson, April Payne, Ernie Bay, Eddie Jefferies, Kevin Soloman and Charlene Coleman. Job well done!

:00—Welcome to the Great Hall!


Like us at https://www.facebook.com/pages/New-Pittsburgh-Courier/143866755628836?ref=hl

Follow @NewPghCourier on Twitter  https://twitter.com/NewPghCourier

Also On New Pittsburgh Courier:
Red Carpet Rundown: 2016 Oscars
17 photos
comments – add yours