0 reads
Leave a comment
Rahiel Tesfamariam

Rahiel Tesfamariam

WASHINGTON (NNPA)—At a reception during the 45th Congressional Black Caucus Foundation Annual Legislative Conference, the National Newspaper Publishers Association honored five Black luminaries with its Leadership Awards.

The awards are given to those who have demonstrated leadership in the Black community and support of the Black Press. Held at the Washington Marriott Marquis, which is partially Black-owned, the reception drew a large crowd of conference attendees and Black Press supporters.

Misty Copland, Roland Martin, Congresswoman Donna F. Edwards, D-Md., Rahiel Tesfamariam, and A. Shuanise Washington were the awardees for 2015, the NNPA’s 75th anniversary year. Denise Rolark Barnes, chair of the NNPA and publisher of The Washington Informer, along with Benjamin F. Chavis Jr., president and CEO of the NNPA, emceed the event.

1 2Next page »

Also On New Pittsburgh Courier:
Red Carpet Rundown: 2016 Oscars
17 photos
comments – add yours