0 reads
Leave a comment

Returning Class AA All State squad members Terry Swanson and Dravon Henry from Aliquippa. (Courier Photos/William McBride/File)

HARRISBURG (AP) — Considering the history at the quarterback position in the WPIAL, what South Fayette signal caller Brett Brumbaugh accomplished this season qualifies as special.

The 6-4, 200-pound Brumbaugh established the single-season passing mark for quarterbacks from the Pittsburgh area by throwing for 3,910 yards.

South Fayette also erased a bad memory from the 2010 PIAA Class AA championship game by defeating Imhotep Charter 41-0 in the state title game behind Brumbaugh’s 299 yards and three touchdowns.

In the end, Brumbaugh had 41 touchdown passes for the undefeated Lions (16-0).

Brumbaugh’s strong arm, record-breaking season and overall savvy helped South Fayette win the first state championship in school history and earned the junior Class AA Player of the Year honors as part of the 2013 Pennsylvania Football Writers’ All-State Football Team.

South Fayette quarterback Brett Brumbaugh (7) looks for a receiver during the first half of a PIAA high school Class AA championship football game in Hershey, Pa., Sunday, Dec. 15, 2013. (AP Photo/Ralph Wilson)

South Fayette quarterback Brett Brumbaugh (7) looks for a receiver during the first half of a PIAA high school Class AA championship football game in Hershey, Pa., Sunday, Dec. 15, 2013. (AP Photo/Ralph Wilson)

This is the fourth year the selection of the all-state team has been overseen by the sportswriters who cover high school football around the commonwealth. Players were nominated in all four PIAA classifications, then a statewide ballot was sent out affording all the writers to cast their vote.

South Fayette coach Joe Rossi guided the Lions to their second state championship game appearance in four years and was named Class AA Coach of the Year.

The 2013 Class AA All-State squad features six returning selections including Brumbaugh. Three players are from Aliquippa: Dravon Henry, Terry Swanson and Jaleel Fields. Linebacker Eric Haney from Danville and Paryss Marshall from Catasauqua round out the returnees.

With plenty of seniors bound for FBS college programs filling out the big-school classification, it speaks volumes that the voters chose Neshaminy junior running back D’Andre Pollard as the Class AAAA Player of the Year.

The 5-7, 170-pound Pollard rushed for a staggering 2,928 yards for the District 1-champion Redskins. He averaged 9.0 yards per carry, scored 39 touchdowns and his 195.2 yards per game over 15 weeks is an impressive number.

St. Joseph’s Prep coach Gabe Infante guided the Hawks through a brutal regular season that saw his club lose two games but ultimately came out on top by claiming a state championship. Infante was the choice of the voters as the Class AAAA Coach of the Year.

Only four of the 34 Class AAAA All-State selections made the grade a year ago. John Reid from St. Joseph’s Prep and Gateway’s Montae Nicholson made the squad again at defensive back. Lower Dauphin kicker Joe Julius and Erie McDowell offensive lineman Scot Augustine each were selected last season a juniors.

A closer look at the Class AA and AAAA teams:




Matt Shaffer, Richland, 6-2, 200 senior

Brett Brumbaugh, South Fayette, 6-2, 200 junior

Zack Bradley, Catasauqua, 6-1, 177 senior

Running Back

Terry Swanson, Aliquippa, 5-9, 185 senior

Shannon Jackson, Fairview, 6-1, 215 senior

Ryan Heim, Pine Grove, 5-9, 160 senior

Ra’Von Burton, Catasauqua, 5-11, 195 senior

Wide Receiver

Paryss Marshall, Catasauqua, 6-2, 188 senior

Jamal Custis, Neumann-Goretti, 6-5, 205 senior

Brandon Kuntz, Camp Hill Trinity, 6-4, 200 senior

Tight End

Alec Bloom, Ligonier Valley, 6-7, 242 senior

Offensive Linemen

Dylan Brennan, Troy, 6-3, 280 junior

Aaron Ruff, Imhotep Charter, 6-5, 300 senior

Mac Storm, Northwestern, 6-3, 300 senior

Jaleel Fields, Aliquippa, 6-2, 287 senior

Ben Henry, Palisades, 6-2, 305 senior


Dravon Henry, Aliquippa, 5-11, 180 senior

Deandre Scott, Imhotep Charter, 5-10, 180 senior

Matt Voytik, Hickory, 6-1, 180 senior


Shayne Riley, Danville, 6-0, 150 junior


Defensive Linemen

Pietro Gaspari, Berks Catholic, 6-1, 215 senior

Ben Verhovsek, Richland, 6-0, 230 senior

Brady Mutton, Pen Argyl, 6-2, 260 senior

Tyrone Barge, Imhotep Charter, 6-1, 276 senior


Eric Haney, Danville, 6-0, 210 senior

Jared Nosal, Catasauqua, 5-11, 210 senior

Ryan Morris, Corry, 6-1, 210 senior

Daulton Linton, Hickory, 5-11, 205 senior

Defensive Back

Drew Newcomb, Lewisburg, 6-1, 185 junior

Kyle Datres, Loyalsock, 6-1, 185 junior

Noah Osman, Chestnut Ridge, 5-10, 135 junior

Matt Kase, Berks Catholic, 6-0, 185 senior


Justin Watson, South Fayette, 6-3, 195 senior

Cam Richardson, Northwestern Lehigh, 5-8, 155 junior

Player of the Year: Brett Brumbaugh, South Fayette

Coach of the Year: Joe Rossi, South Fayette




Chris Martin, St. Joseph’s Prep, 5-10, 185 senior

Andrew Ford, Cedar Cliff, 6-2, 195 senior

Mark Pyles, Lebanon, 6-0, 215 senior

Running Back

D’Andre Pollard, Neshaminy, 5-7, 170 junior

Kareem Williams, Parkland, 6-0, 190 senior

Chase Edmonds, CD East, 5-10, 185 senior

Smir Bullock, Archbishop Ryan, 5-7, 165 junior

Wide Receiver

Troy Apke, Mt. Lebanon, 6-2, 190 senior

Elijah Zeise, North Allegheny, 6-2, 200 senior

Tight End

Luke Carrezola, Neshaminy, 6-3, 242 senior

Offensive Linemen

Scot Augustine, Erie McDowell, 6-1, 200 senior

Jon Daniel Runyan, St. Joseph’s Prep, 6-4, 255 junior

Alex Bookser, Mt. Lebanon, 6-6, 295 senior

Michael Grimm, Bethel Park, 6-6, 308 senior

Sterling Jenkins, Baldwin, 6-8, 300 junior

Eric Gallo, Council Rock South, 6-3, 280 senior


Troy Spencer, Lower Dauphin, 5-11, 180 senior

Eli Redmond, Parkland, 5-7, 175 senior


Joe Julius, Lower Dauphin, 5-11, 200 senior


Defensive Linemen

Michal Menet, Exeter Twp., 6-4, 255 sophomore

Trey Klock, Lower Dauphin, 6-4, 260 senior

Zack DeLuca, Pittsburgh C.C., 6-2, 240 senior

Ben Huss, Upper St. Clair, 6-3, 275 senior


Tyler Burke, Coatesville, 6-4, 245 senior

Zaire Franklin, La Salle College HS, 6-1, 220 senior

Niko Thorpe, Pittsburgh C.C., 5-11, 220 senior

Nezar Haddad, Parkland, 6-2, 210 senior

Tyler Heisey, Cumberland Valley, 5-11, 195 senior

Defensive Back

Connor Golden, Archbishop Ryan, 6-0, 190 senior

John Reid, St. Joseph’s Prep, 5-10, 180 junior

Montae Nicholson, Gateway, 6-3, 200 senior

Ryan Bonshak, Whitehall, 5-10, 185 senior


Vince Moffett, St. Joseph’s Prep, 5-10, 185 senior

Daquan Worley, Coatesville, 5-11, 175 senior

Player of the Year: D’Andre Pollard, Neshaminy

Coach of the Year: Gabe Infante, St. Joseph’s Prep

COMING THURSDAY: Class A and AAA teams.

Also On New Pittsburgh Courier:
Red Carpet Rundown: 2016 Oscars
17 photos
comments – add yours