Mosley was another finalist who was left disappointed by the way the season went for his team. The Crimson Tide was knocked out of a chance to play for a third straight national title after losing to Auburn. Mosley will end his college career when Alabama meets Oklahoma on Jan. 2 in the Sugar Bowl.

He leads Alabama with 102 tackles, has seven tackles for losses and broke up five passes.

“I’m not happy with the way it ended,” Mosley said about the season, “but we’ve got one more game to go and I want to go out as a winner for my senior year.”

Sam, who grew up in nearby Hitchcock, Texas, enjoyed returning to his home state for the ceremony.

“It was just a warm feeling when I saw the sign that said: ‘Welcome to Texas,'” he said. “My family is excited and so proud right now.”

Sam became the first player from Missouri to be a finalist for the Lombardi Award after piling up 18 tackles for losses and 10½ sacks. He also returned a fumble for a touchdown.

Barr is tied for fifth in the nation with 20 tackles for losses. He also has 10 sacks, 62 tackles and forced five fumbles this season. He was honored to be a finalist for the award.

“It means that my hard work has paid off and just to be mentioned with these three other guys has been awesome,” he said.

Lombardi Award Winners

2013 – Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh, DE

2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame, LB

2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College, LB

2010 – Nick Fairley, Auburn, DT

2009 – Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska, DE

2008 – Brian Orakpo, Texas, DE

2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU, DT

2006 – LaMarr Woodley, Michigan, DE

2005 – A.J. Hawk, Ohio State, LB

2004 – David Pollack, Georgia, DE

2003 – Tommie Harris, Oklahoma, DT

2002 – Terrell Suggs, Arizona State, DE

2001 – Julius Peppers, North Carolina, DE

2000 – Jamal Reynolds, Florida State, DE

1999 – Corey Moore, Virginia Tech, DE

1998 – Dat Nguyen, Texas A&M, LB

1997 – Grant Wistrom, Nebraska, DE

1996 – Orlando Pace, Ohio State, OT

1995 – Orlando Pace, Ohio State, OT

1994 – Warren Sapp, Miami, DT

1993 – Aaron Taylor, Notre Dame, OT

1992 – Marvin Jones, Florida State, LB

1991 – Steve Emtman, Washington, DT

1990 – Chris Zorich, Notre Dame, NT

1989 – Percy Snow, Michigan State, LB

1988 – Tracy Rocker, Auburn, DT

1987 – Chris Spielman, Ohio State, LB

1986 – Cornelius Bennett, Alabama, LB

1985 – Tony Casillas, Oklahoma, NG

1984 – Tony Degrate, Texas, DT

1983 – Dean Steinkuhler, Nebraska, G

1982 – Dave Rimington, Nebraska, C

1981 – Kenneth Sims, Texas, DT

1980 – Hugh Green, Pittsburgh, DE

1979 – Brad Budde, Southern California, G

1978 – Bruce Clark, Penn State, DT

1977 – Ross Browner, Notre Dame, DE

1976 – Wilson Whitley, Houston, DT

1975 – Lee Roy Selmon, Oklahoma, DT

1974 – Randy White, Maryland, DT

1973 – John Hicks, Ohio State, OT

1972 – Rich Glover, Nebraska, MG

1971 – Walt Patulski, Notre Dame, DE

1970 – Jim Stillwagon, Ohio State, MG

« Previous page 1 2

Also On New Pittsburgh Courier:
comments – Add Yours