ATLANTA (NNPA)—Winners in five categories of the A. Philip Randolph Messenger Awards were announced June 21 during the national convention of the NNPA. MillerCoors, sponsor of the event, donated $30,000 to journalists who produced outstanding work in 2012. The winners in each category received $5,000 and runner-ups were awarded $500.

AWARDS CEREMONY—Pictured above are, from left: Karl Rodney, NNPA Foundation; Natalie Cole, Our Weekly; Thelma Sardin, The Chicago Citizen Group; Bernie Foster, The Skanner; James Washington, The Dallas Weekly; Kenya Vaughn, St. Louis American; Larry Waters, MillerCoors; Janis Ware, The Atlanta Voice; Rod Doss, New Pittsburgh Courier; David Miller, Our Weekly; Larissa Tyler; The Chicago Citizen; Sonny Jiles; The Houston Defender; and Jeffrey Boney, Houston Forward Times. (Flowers Communications Group Photo/Waylan Phillips)

The winners were:

Breaking News: Jennifer French-Parker (CrossRoads News)

Commentary: Lekan Oguntoyinbo (Atlanta Voice)

Feature: Thelma Sardin (Chicago Citizen)

Sustainability: Christian Morrow (New Pittsburgh Courier)

Best Digital Presence: St. Louis American

Also On New Pittsburgh Courier:
comments – Add Yours