Deeds not words, showing our love through service is the motto of the Harriet Tubman Guild. On Dec. 3, at the Churchill Valley County Club the Guild held their annual queens luncheon with the honorable Kim Berkeley Clark as mistress of Ceremonies. Hundreds of ladies and a few gents enjoyed the jazzy sounds of Center of Life Jazz Ensemble, a delightful lunch, a beautiful fashion show presented by A Women’s Touch and shopping with local vendors. On this day the crown is passed from the reigning queen to the new queen.

QUEEN & HER COURT—Carolyn Jefferson, Patricia Day, Carmen Davis, Lois Brown, Jhalena Tyler and Beverly Louis Curry Diggs

There are seven chapters within the guild: Congress, Distinctive Young Ladies, Emanon, Hallie Q. Brown, Together, Tri-Boro and Winona Idell. This year’s queen was Carmen Davis, of the Together Chapter. The queen is determined by the amount of money raised for the luncheon. Davis’ court Included: Lois M. Brown (Emanon), Beverly Louis Curry Diggs (Hallie Q. Brown), Carolyn Jefferson (Together) and Patricia Day (Winona Idell). The queens were presented by Ivella Davis and Michael D. Creighton read the rich history of the guild.

In 1928, Mrs. Abraham Lincoln began to use the medium of radio to publicize the Harriet Tubman Club. This was the first time an all Negro program was presented in Allegheny County. After seven years the Annual Lincoln- Douglas broadcast was instituted. In 1934, Mrs. Louise Holmes, the corresponding secretary, suggested a name change from club to guild because of its expanded capacity. The guild was chartered in 1936, as a non-profit organization.. The Harriet Tubman Guild Board of Directors for 2011: Lizette Jackson-Hicks (president), Frances Wilkes (first vice president), Eleanor Campbell (second vice president), Carolyn Ramsey (treasurer), Wilma McKinney (Secretary), Brenda White (Assistant Recording Secretary), Maxine Engram (corresponding secretary), Mary L. Black (financial secretary), Jacqueline H. Brackett (trustee chairperson), Patricia Day (field secretary) and Audrey Fincher (nomination committee chairperson).

Also On New Pittsburgh Courier:
comments – Add Yours