NAACP Pittsburgh held its 9th annual Freedom Sunday Worship Service last month at Petra International Ministries Inc., in East Hills, Bishop Donald O. Clay Jr., pastor.

The organ prelude was played by Elder Lisa A. Clay and Min. Jason Washington, as clergy, executive officers, executive committee members and special guests marched down the aisles. The Invocation was done by Rev. B. DeNeice Welch, pastor of Bidwell Presbyterian Church, and “Lift Every Voice and Sing” was sung by the Petra Praise and Worship Choir and the congregation.

REV. DR. LORAN MANN receives Pastor of the Year award from NAACP Pittsburgh Third Vice President Johnnie Miott.

Reverend Dr. David B. Thornton, pastor of Grace Memorial Presbyterian Church, did the Freedom Sunday Litany and M. Gayle Moss, president of NAACP Pittsburgh greeted the congregation and clergy. Song selections were performed by the Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Mass Choir directed by Leonard Holt, and the reading of the Scriptures were by Rev. Mildred Johnson, associate pastor of Baptist Temple Church, and Bishop Michael Golphin, pastor of Deliverance Baptist Church.

The Pastor of the Year Award went to Rev. Dr. Loran Mann, pastor of Pentecostal Temple COGIC. Johnnie Miott, third vice president of NAACP Pittsburgh, presented the award to Rev. Mann. After the presentation Barbara Mann performed a solo. The guest speaker was Rev. Dr. Steven A. Jackson, pastor of Bethel AME Church.

Also On New Pittsburgh Courier:
comments – Add Yours