10 reads
Leave a comment

On a beautiful Saturday evening more than 200 gathered at the Pittsburgh Marriott City Center for the Gateway Medical Society Scholarship Gala. The theme on Oct. 24 was “Closing the Gap” and Levi Walker, M.D. was honored as Physician of the Year.

Walker is the fifth of nine children born to Cecil Roosevelt and Edna Sutton Walker. He knew as a young child that he wanted to be a doctor. He entered the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine in 1980 at this same time he married the love of his life, the former Cheryl A. Carter.

HONORING THE MAN OF THE HOUR—Dr. Christopher Allen (Gateway Medical Society president) and Dr. Levi Walker (2009 Physician of the Year).

Walker hung up his shingle to practice medicine July 10, 1987 and opened his office in the Medical Center East building in East Liberty. He has been serving the community for 22 years. He has been mentored by some of Pittsburgh’s leading health care providers—Dr. Roosevelt Richardson, Dr. Charles Greenly, Dr. William B. Miller, Dr. Frank Sessoms, Dr. Edward James and Dr. Charles Hefflin to name a few.


From 1987 to 2005 Walker served as the first medical director of the Adult Sickle Cell Treatment Center. He was awarded for his work by the Pennsylvania Coalition of Sickle Cell Agencies Statewide Conference in 1991. Walker served as Gateway Medical Society president from 1998 to 2002 and reintroduced the yearly honoring of the Pittsburgh and surrounding regions Gateway Medical Societies physicians by selecting a physician of the year. Walker and the executive committee renamed it after the first sitting president of the society, Dr. Oswald J. Nickens.

Walker and his wife have been blessed with seven children. Cheryl Walker is a practicing R.N. for the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. With all that Walker has on his plate, he also is a minister at the Church of The Living God, The Pillar and Ground of the Truth.

The evening was a wonderful tribute to him with a video that featured glowing testimonies from family, patients and colleagues. Once he thanked his family, friends and the Gateway Medical Society for the honor, aspiring doctors were presented with checks of $2,500 each. This year’s recipients were Gaetan Pettigrew, Kellie Middleton, Dionne Okafor and Gnankang Sarah Napoe.

Lynne Hayes-Freeland returned for a second year as the mistress of ceremonies and deejay Nick Nice provided the entertainment. The first couple to hit the dance floor after a scrumptious dinner were the Walkers.

Also On New Pittsburgh Courier:
Red Carpet Rundown: 2016 Oscars
17 photos
comments – add yours